Checked against Matomo's public pages on 1 October 2026
trckable vs Matomo
An open-source analytics platform you can host yourself for free (On-Premise) or pay Matomo to host (Cloud). Two analytics tools side by side. Where Matomo's public pages do not say, the table says so.
Side by side
| Topic | trckable | Matomo |
|---|---|---|
| Price, in US dollars | ||
| 100k events a month | $6 a month $60 a year |
Cloud (100,000 hits plan) $42 a month, $420 a year On-Premise Community edition: free, on your own server1 |
| 500k events a month | $42 a month $336 a year* |
Cloud (600,000 hits plan) $139 a month, $1,390 a year On-Premise Community edition: free, on your own server1its sizes go 300,000, 600,000, 1 million hits1 |
| 2M events a month | $99 a month $990 a year |
Cloud (2 million hits plan) $399 a month, $3,990 a year On-Premise Community edition: free, on your own server1 |
| What the plans differ in | One plan: every feature at every size | Cloud: one plan sized by hits, 30 websites and 30 team members; Enterprise has custom limits. On-Premise: free Community, or Team, Business and Enterprise bundles that add plugins1 |
| Revenue | ||
| Revenue attribution | Yes: sales credited to the visit that earned them | Yes, with its Multi-Channel Conversion Attribution plugin, which splits conversions and revenue by channel8 |
| Payment providers | Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Polar, Paddle and Dodo with one key; any other checkout by webhook | A WooCommerce Analytics plugin is listed; other payment providers are not stated1 |
| Hosting and code | ||
| Self-hosting | Yes, free: the same program that runs our Cloud | Yes: the On-Premise Community edition is free, with unlimited users and hits1 |
| Open source | Yes: server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT | Yes: GPL v3 or later3 |
| Where data is stored | The EU: servers in Amsterdam, backups in the EU | Cloud: Frankfurt, Germany. On-Premise: wherever you put your servers1 |
| Visitors | ||
| Cookies and consent | Cookieless mode is one switch: nothing is kept on the visitor's device. Without it, one first-party cookie lets a sale days later land on the right visit | Its default tracking code sets first-party cookies, which can be turned off; it says consent may still be needed under EU rules4 |
| Tracker size, gzipped | 2,045 Bmeasured in CI, 1 Oct 2026 | 22,204 B self-hosted; 28,211 B from its Cloud CDNmatomo.js from its GitHub repository, and cdn.matomo.cloud/matomo.js, gzipped, measured 1 Oct 20265, 9 |
| Team and data | ||
| AI assistant | Peek answers questions about your numbers in plain words, in the dashboard; API, CLI and MCP for your own AI tools | An MCP server connects AI tools such as ChatGPT and Claude to your data; a built-in assistant is not stated6 |
| Team seats | Up to 10 team members to 500k events, unlimited from 1M; viewers and share links always unlimited | Cloud: 30 team members. On-Premise: unlimited on Community, up to 4 on Team, 20 on Business, 50 on Enterprise1 |
| Data export | The view you are looking at as CSV, filters included; the same numbers over the API; your whole install as one file you can run anywhere | CSV, TSV, XML or JSON through its export and API, plus a Data Warehouse Connector for raw data7 |
* At 500k our yearly price is under ten months' price, and stays yours at every renewal while you stay on 500k yearly. Matomo Cloud bills by hits: one tracked page view, event, download, outlink, site search or content request each2. Its yearly price is ten months' price1. Our counts are pageviews and custom events, across all your sites. Prices are in US dollars as each tool lists them; where its sizes differ from ours, the closest plan that covers the size is shown.
Where Matomo is strong
Why switch
- A lighter script. 2,045 bytes gzipped, with goals, outbound links and checkout attribution built in.
- Revenue by source. Sales from Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Polar, Paddle and Dodo credited to the visit that earned them.
- Ask in words. Peek answers questions about your numbers in plain language.
Questions
- What does Matomo cost at 500k hits a month, compared with trckable?
- Matomo: Cloud (600,000 hits plan) $139 a month, $1,390 a year; On-Premise Community edition: free, on your own server; its sizes go 300,000, 600,000, 1 million hits. trckable: $42 a month, or $336 a year (kept at every renewal while you stay on 500k yearly). Matomo Cloud bills by hits: one tracked page view, event, download, outlink, site search or content request each. Its yearly price is ten months' price.
- Can I self-host Matomo?
- Yes: the On-Premise Community edition is free, with unlimited users and hits. trckable: Yes, free: the same program that runs our Cloud.
- Is Matomo open source?
- Yes: GPL v3 or later. trckable: Yes: server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT.
- Where does Matomo store its data?
- Cloud: Frankfurt, Germany. On-Premise: wherever you put your servers. trckable: The EU: servers in Amsterdam, backups in the EU.
- Does Matomo use cookies?
- Its default tracking code sets first-party cookies, which can be turned off; it says consent may still be needed under EU rules. trckable: Cookieless mode is one switch: nothing is kept on the visitor's device. Without it, one first-party cookie lets a sale days later land on the right visit.
- How big is Matomo's tracking script?
- 22,204 B self-hosted; 28,211 B from its Cloud CDN; matomo.js from its GitHub repository, and cdn.matomo.cloud/matomo.js, gzipped, measured 1 Oct 2026. trckable: 2,045 B; measured in CI, 1 Oct 2026.
Other comparisons
Sources, checked on 1 October 2026
The Matomo column is our reading of its public pages, in our own words. If it has changed or we got it wrong, tell us and we will fix it. "Not stated" means we found nothing on those pages either way.
- Cloud prices per hit size (its structured data lists US dollars), plans, allowances, data location, On-Premise editions and users: matomo.org/pricing/.
- What counts as a hit: matomo.org/faq/general/what-is-a-hit/.
- Licence, stated in the repository readme: raw.githubusercontent.com/matomo-org/matomo/5.x-dev/README.md.
- Cookies its tracking code creates and the consent note: matomo.org/faq/general/faq_146/.
- Script size: the file, gzipped: raw.githubusercontent.com/matomo-org/matomo/5.x-dev/matomo.js.
- AI: its MCP server guide: matomo.org/guide/apis/mcp-model-context-protocol/.
- Data export: formats, API and the data warehouse connector: matomo.org/guide/manage-matomo/export-data/.
- Revenue by channel: the attribution plugin page: plugins.matomo.org/MultiChannelConversionAttribution.
- Script size of the generic matomo.js on its Cloud CDN, the size sent over the wire, gzipped: cdn.matomo.cloud/matomo.js.
trckable's figures: prices are the ones on the pricing, sizes are CI's measurements, the rest is in the docs.