Checked against Microsoft Clarity's public pages on 20 October 2026
trckable vs Microsoft Clarity
A free behaviour tool from Microsoft: session recordings, heatmaps and AI summaries, with no traffic limits. Two analytics tools side by side. Where Microsoft Clarity's public pages do not say, the table says so.
Side by side
| Topic | trckable | Microsoft Clarity |
|---|---|---|
| Price, in US dollars | ||
| 100k events a month | $5 a month paid yearly $60 a year, up to 200k (Solo, launch price) |
Free, with no traffic limits1 |
| 500k events a month | $42 a month $348 a year* |
Free, with no traffic limits1 |
| 2M events a month | $99 a month $990 a year |
Free, with no traffic limits1 |
| What the plans differ in | Every feature on every plan: Solo to 200k, Founder to 500k, Scale from 1M to 5M | One free tier. Recordings are kept 30 days; favourites and a random sample up to 9 months1 |
| Revenue | ||
| Revenue attribution | Yes: sales credited to the visit that earned them | A purchase conversion rate calculated from the data your site sends; revenue by source is not stated1 |
| Payment providers | Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Polar, Paddle and Dodo with one key; any other checkout by webhook | Not stated |
| Hosting and code | ||
| Self-hosting | Yes, free: the same program that runs our Cloud | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes: server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT | The code that captures interactions is open source on GitHub; the service itself is not stated1, 2 |
| Where data is stored | The EU: servers in Amsterdam, backups in the EU | Microsoft Azure; EU customers contract with Microsoft Ireland1 |
| Visitors | ||
| Cookies and consent | Cookieless mode is one switch: nothing is kept on the visitor's device. Without it, one first-party cookie lets a sale days later land on the right visit | A first-party cookie tells users apart; explicit consent is required in the EEA, UK and Switzerland, and without it sessions are fragmented1 |
| Tracker size, gzipped | 2,098 Bmeasured in CI, 28 Oct 2026 | Not stated |
| Team and data | ||
| AI assistant | Peek answers questions about your numbers in plain words, in the dashboard; API, CLI and MCP for your own AI tools | Copilot in Clarity: chat about your dashboard data, and heatmap insights1 |
| Team seats | Unlimited team members on every plan, owners and viewers both; share links always unlimited | No limit on members or admins per project; 10 pending invites at a time1 |
| Data export | The view you are looking at as CSV, filters included; the same numbers over the API; your whole install as one file you can run anywhere | Not stated |
* At 500k our yearly price is under ten months' price for the first 50 customers, and stays yours at every renewal while you stay on 500k yearly. Microsoft Clarity is described as free forever, with no traffic limits and no sampling, so there is no size to price1. Our counts are pageviews and custom events, across all your sites. Prices are in US dollars as each tool lists them; where its sizes differ from ours, the closest plan that covers the size is shown.
Where Microsoft Clarity is strong
Why people look for a Microsoft Clarity alternative
- Yours to run. Open source, so you can move to your own server whenever you like.
- Cookies optional. One switch keeps nothing on the visitor's device.
- Revenue by source. Sales from Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Polar, Paddle and Dodo credited to the visit that earned them.
Moving from Microsoft Clarity
Questions
- What does Microsoft Clarity cost at 500k page views a month, compared with trckable?
- Microsoft Clarity: Free, with no traffic limits. trckable: $42 a month, or $348 a year ($29 a month billed yearly) for the first 50 customers (kept at every renewal while you stay on 500k yearly). Microsoft Clarity is described as free forever, with no traffic limits and no sampling, so there is no size to price.
- Can I self-host Microsoft Clarity?
- Microsoft Clarity's public pages do not say. trckable: Yes, free: the same program that runs our Cloud.
- Is Microsoft Clarity open source?
- The code that captures interactions is open source on GitHub; the service itself is not stated. trckable: Yes: server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT.
- Where does Microsoft Clarity store its data?
- Microsoft Azure; EU customers contract with Microsoft Ireland. trckable: The EU: servers in Amsterdam, backups in the EU.
- Does Microsoft Clarity use cookies?
- A first-party cookie tells users apart; explicit consent is required in the EEA, UK and Switzerland, and without it sessions are fragmented. trckable: Cookieless mode is one switch: nothing is kept on the visitor's device. Without it, one first-party cookie lets a sale days later land on the right visit.
- How big is Microsoft Clarity's tracking script?
- Microsoft Clarity's public pages do not say. trckable: 2,098 B; measured in CI, 28 Oct 2026.
Other comparisons
- trckable vs DataFast
- trckable vs Plausible
- trckable vs Fathom Analytics
- trckable vs Umami
- trckable vs Simple Analytics
- trckable vs Pirsch
- trckable vs Swetrix
- trckable vs Matomo
- trckable vs PostHog
- trckable vs Google Analytics 4
- trckable vs Vercel Analytics
- trckable vs Cloudflare Analytics
- All comparisons
Sources, checked on 20 October 2026
The Microsoft Clarity column is our reading of its public pages, in our own words. If it has changed or we got it wrong, tell us and we will fix it. "Not stated" means we found nothing on those pages either way.
- Free with no limits, cookies and consent, data location, retention, team members, Copilot: learn.microsoft.com/en-us/clarity/faq.
- The open-source tracking code: github.com/microsoft/clarity.
trckable's figures: prices are the ones on the pricing, sizes are CI's measurements, how they are measured is in the docs.