Updated 2 October 2026

Open-source analytics alternatives

Seven open-source analytics tools, set side by side, with where each is strong and what to check before you pick one. Every fact about another tool is cited to its own pages.

In short

  • Open source does not mean the same thing everywhere. Some tools hold features back from the self-hosted edition, some need a paid licence to self-host, and some are only partly open.
  • The table has the licence, self-hosting, price, revenue handling, cookies and script size of each tool, from its own pages, checked on 2 October 2026.
  • Not sure what you need? The decision guide below starts from what you want to do, not from a ranking.

Seven open-source tools side by side#

ToolCheapest plan at 100k a monthRevenue by sourceSelf-hostingLicenceCookiesScript, gzipped
trckablethis site$6 a month, $60 a yearYes: sales credited to the visit that earned themYes, free, every featureServer AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MITNone in cookieless mode; one first-party cookie otherwise2,045 B
PlausiblepageviewsStarter $19 a month, $190 a year1Business plan: an amount on a custom event3Yes, free, with fewer features4AGPL-3.0 or later; tracker MIT4, 9None52,487 B
UmamieventsHobby $0 a month, 100K events included; 1 website, 6 months of data1Revenue events, plus an attribution report2, 3Yes, free1, 5MIT6None12,333 B
MatomohitsCloud (100,000 hits plan) $42 a month, $420 a year1Yes, with a plugin8Yes, free On-Premise edition1GPL v3 or later3First-party cookies by default, which can be turned off422,204 B self-hosted; 28,211 B from its Cloud CDN
PostHogevents$0: inside the free 1M events a month1On persons and groups; credit to a source is not stated4, 6Yes, officially unsupported8MIT; the ee folder has its own licence7A first-party cookie by default; a cookieless mode exists1099,554 B
SwetrixeventsStandard $19 a month, $190 a year1Yes, in the traffic chart1, 2Yes, free Community Edition1, 3AGPL-3.04None by default5, 16,235 B
Pirschpage viewsStandard $12 a month, $120 a year1A purchase event with an amount, on Plus; credit to sources is not stated2, 3Yes, with a paid Enterprise licence4Core AGPL-3.05None63,567 B

Prices are in US dollars, for the cheapest plan that covers 100,000 events, pageviews or hits a month, in each tool's own counting unit. Our own price is on the home page's pricing. "Not stated" means the tool's pages do not say. The script column is gzipped bytes: what the other tools' servers send, as measured on 2 October 2026, and what our CI measures for trckable (1 Oct 2026).

What "open source" means when you want to self-host#

Four questions decide whether open source helps you.

Which licence, and for which part? MIT and similar permissive licences let anyone use the code with almost no conditions. AGPL-3.0 and GPL v3 are copyleft licences: changes you distribute (with AGPL, also changes you offer as a service) must be shared under the same licence. A tool can use one licence for its server and another for the script on your pages.

Is the self-hosted edition the whole product? Some tools offer a self-hosted edition with fewer features than their cloud service. Others self-host the same program they sell. The table below says what each tool's own pages say.

What does it cost to self-host? Free software is not free to run: there is the server, the database it needs, the backups and the upgrades. A tool that needs a separate analytics database tends to cost more to run than one that does not.

Is self-hosting supported? Self-hosting may be free but unsupported, or require a paid licence. That affects what you can count on when something breaks.

ToolSelf-hostingOpen source
trckableYes, free: the same program that runs our CloudYes: server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT
PlausibleYes, free: Community Edition on your own server, released twice a year, without funnels, user journeys, revenue goals, SSO and the Sites API4Yes: the self-hosted edition is AGPL-3.0 or later; the tracker you embed is MIT4, 9
UmamiYes, free, with Node.js and PostgreSQL, from source or Docker; some features, such as email reports, are Cloud only1, 5Yes: MIT licence, per the LICENSE file in its repo6
MatomoYes: the On-Premise Community edition is free, with unlimited users and hits1Yes: GPL v3 or later3
PostHogYes: a free Docker Compose deploy; its docs call self-hosted setups officially unsupported8Yes: MIT for most of the code; the ee folder has its own licence7
SwetrixYes, free: a Community Edition you run with Docker1, 3Yes: AGPL-3.0, per the licence file in its repo4
PirschYes, with a paid Enterprise License, priced by your size and needs4Yes, the core: AGPL-3.0, per the licence file in its repo5

Where each tool is strong#

Taken from each tool's own pages. Each name links to a full comparison with trckable.

trckable

Free and open source (server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT). One container with no external database, using 52 MB of memory when idle by CI's measurement, and a browser script of 2,045 bytes gzipped with goals, outbound links and checkout attribution. Every feature is in the self-hosted program, which is the one that runs trckable Cloud. Its focus is revenue: payments from Stripe, Paddle, Lemon Squeezy, Polar and Dodo are credited to the visit that earned them. See revenue attribution.

Plausible

A hosted, EU-based analytics service with four plans priced by monthly traffic; it also has a self-hosted edition.

  • Funnels, user journeys, a Data Studio connector and Google Analytics import are listed on its plans1.
  • Teams can be split per client, each with its own subscription and billing10.

Umami

Open-source web analytics you can self-host for free or use as a paid cloud service, billed by events.

  • Its Business plan adds session replays and heatmaps, and its Hobby plan is free up to 100K events a month1.
  • Its whole app is MIT-licensed, a more permissive licence than our AGPL-3.0 server, and it has a hosted plan for people who do not want to run it1, 5, 6.

Matomo

An open-source analytics platform you can host yourself for free (On-Premise) or pay Matomo to host (Cloud).

  • Heatmaps and session recording, A/B testing, funnels and a tag manager are listed on its plans, and it can import data from Google Analytics1.
  • It can export raw data to a data warehouse, and reports in CSV, TSV, XML or JSON7.

PostHog

PostHog's Web analytics product: a traffic dashboard in an open-source suite, billed per event after 1M free a month.

  • Session replay, feature flags, experiments and surveys come from the same sign-up, each with its own free monthly allowance1.
  • The free plan covers 1M events a month with unlimited team members, and it is open source under MIT for most of the code1, 7.

Swetrix

Open-source, cookieless web analytics with error tracking, session replays and experiments, on a paid cloud or self-hosted.

  • Error tracking, performance monitoring and funnels are in both paid plans, and Plus adds session replays, feature flags and A/B testing1.
  • It has an Ask AI tab that answers questions about your data, included in every plan1, 7.

Pirsch

A German-hosted, cookie-free web analytics service with an open-source core, billed by page views.

  • Its plans keep unlimited data and unlimited members, and it imports history from Google Analytics, Plausible and Fathom1.
  • It has a built-in URL shortener and A/B testing with segmentation on its Plus plan1.

Tools that do not say they are open source#

These come up in the same searches, so here they are, with the same facts. For Fathom, only an older version, Fathom Lite, is open. A hosted tool can be the right answer if you would rather not run anything.

ToolCheapest plan at 100k a monthRevenue by sourceSelf-hostingLicenceCookiesScript, gzipped
trckablethis site$6 a month, $60 a yearYes: sales credited to the visit that earned themYes, free, every featureServer AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MITNone in cookieless mode; one first-party cookie otherwise2,045 B
DataFasteventsStarter $19 a month, $190 a year1Yes, by marketing channel2Not statedNot statedCookies by default; a cookieless script is less accurate for long-term attribution55,253 B
Fathom Analyticspageviews$15 a month, $150 a year1Event values; a revenue-by-source report is not stated2, 3Only the older Fathom Lite6, 13Fathom Lite MIT; the current product is not stated6None82,090 B
Simple AnalyticspageviewsSimple $20 a month, $200 a year1Not statedNo2Not open source2None43,884 B
Google Analytics 4events$0: Google Analytics is free of charge1Yes, in the traffic acquisition report4Not statedNot statedFirst-party cookies (_ga), 2 years by default5155,016 B

DataFast

A hosted analytics tool built around one question: which marketing channel brought the revenue.

  • Shopify connects for revenue, and it adds social mentions from X and Reddit on its Growth plan1, 2.
  • It is a hosted service with nothing to run, which suits people who do not want a server1.

Fathom Analytics

A hosted, cookie-free analytics service from a Canadian company, with one feature set on every plan and prices set by monthly traffic.

  • Every plan includes at least 50 sites, and extra sites come in packs of 501.
  • It lists a Google Search Console integration and a Google Analytics importer among its features12.

Simple Analytics

A hosted analytics service from a Dutch company, with a free plan, a traffic-priced paid plan and custom Enterprise deals.

  • You can pay in euros, dollars or pounds, by card, Apple Pay, Google Pay or Bitcoin1.
  • It has a free plan for up to 5 websites, with 1 month of history1.

Google Analytics 4

Google's free web and app analytics product, with a separate paid 360 tier that raises limits.

  • Standard properties cost nothing1, and their raw events can be exported to BigQuery, up to 1M events a day, which can go to a free BigQuery sandbox9.
  • Ask Advisor, a Gemini-powered assistant, is built into the product (beta), and a read-only MCP server exists for your own AI tools7, 8.

Which one should you pick?#

Start from the job, not from a ranking.

  • You want revenue by traffic source, on a small server. Look at the revenue column first. Some tools take an amount you send from your own code, some connect the payment provider, and some do neither. trckable's focus is the second, with five providers. Revenue attribution explains how it works.
  • You want a hosted service and no server. A hosted service is the easiest start, and several tools above offer one. Compare the price at your traffic, not at 100,000 events, on each tool's page.
  • You want the widest toolbox. Matomo and PostHog list more than web analytics: heatmaps, session recording, A/B testing and more, from their own pages. If you need those, a web analytics tool is not the choice.
  • You want the simplest self-hosting. Compare what each tool needs to run, in the self-hosting table above, and what its self-hosted edition leaves out.
  • You want the most permissive licence. MIT is the most permissive in the table. Check the licence of the server and of the tracker separately.
  • You need no cookie banner in the EU. No tool can promise that for you. Several of these tools set no cookies by default. Read the cookieless analytics guide for what actually decides it.
  • You are moving from Google Analytics. A few of these import your history. trckable imports from Plausible, Umami and Google Analytics 4: see migrating.

How we check these facts#

Each fact comes from the tool's own pricing page, documentation or public repository, read on the date shown in the sources below. We write what we find in our own words, measure each script ourselves, and say "Not stated" where a tool's pages do not say. Prices and plans change, so check the tool's page before you buy. If something here is wrong, tell us and we will fix it.

Looking for one specific tool? The comparison pages go deeper, with price at three sizes and a longer list of rows: DataFast, Plausible, Umami, Matomo, PostHog, Swetrix, Pirsch, Fathom, Simple Analytics and Google Analytics 4. The full table of all eleven is on the compare page.

Questions#

What is the best open-source alternative to Plausible?
It depends on what you want to change. If you want revenue by source, trckable and some of the other tools handle it differently: see trckable vs Plausible and the revenue column above. If you want the same kind of hosted simplicity, the comparison pages say what each tool offers.
Is Plausible open source?
Its self-hosted edition and tracker are open source, under the licences in the table, and its self-hosted Community Edition leaves out some features the cloud service has. The table cites its own pages on both points.
Is Umami open source?
Yes: its repository carries the MIT licence, per the table. Some features, such as email reports, are available on its cloud service only.
Can I self-host Matomo, PostHog or Pirsch?
Matomo's On-Premise Community edition is free. PostHog offers a free Docker Compose deployment, which its docs describe as unsupported. Pirsch requires a paid Enterprise licence to self-host. The self-hosting table above has the wording and the sources.
Which open-source tool is smallest to run?
Compare the requirements in the self-hosting table with the script sizes in the main table. trckable is one container with no external database, and its idle memory and script size are CI's measurements, published on the benchmarks page.
Does open source make an analytics tool private?
Not by itself. Open source lets you read what the code does and run it yourself, which helps. Privacy still depends on what the tool collects and how you set it up. See the cookieless analytics guide.

Sources#

The numbers in the tables link here. Each list is the tool's own pages, as they stood on the day shown.

Plausible, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Plans, prices, seats and features: the pricing section, each size read from its slider data, yearly shown as ten months: plausible.io/
  2. Revenue attribution: how an amount is attached to an event, Business plan, WooCommerce and Shopify: plausible.io/docs/ecommerce-revenue-tracking
  3. Community Edition: free self-hosting, licence, what it lacks, server location: plausible.io/docs/self-hosting
  4. Cookies and visitor counting, and where data is processed: plausible.io/data-policy
  5. Licence of the code and of the embedded tracker, in the README: github.com/plausible/analytics
  6. Teams, roles and one team per client with separate billing: plausible.io/docs/users-roles

Umami, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Plans, prices, events included, per-event rates, websites, seats, retention, MCP access, billing, export, cookies and server regions, read from the page and its FAQ: umami.is/pricing
  2. How revenue is tracked: an event with revenue and currency: docs.umami.is/docs/revenue
  3. The attribution report: first-click and last-click credit by referrer, paid ads and UTM: docs.umami.is/docs/attribution
  4. Self-hosting: requirements and install steps: docs.umami.is/docs/install
  5. The licence file in its repository: github.com/umami-software/umami/blob/master/LICENSE

Matomo, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Cloud prices per hit size (its structured data lists US dollars), plans, allowances, data location, On-Premise editions and users: matomo.org/pricing/
  2. Licence, stated in the repository readme: raw.githubusercontent.com/matomo-org/matomo/5.x-dev/README.md
  3. Cookies its tracking code creates and the consent note: matomo.org/faq/general/faq_146/
  4. Data export: formats, API and the data warehouse connector: matomo.org/guide/manage-matomo/export-data/
  5. Revenue by channel: the attribution plugin page: plugins.matomo.org/MultiChannelConversionAttribution

PostHog, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Free tier, plans, team members, AI credits and what counts as usage: posthog.com/pricing
  2. How revenue is exposed on persons and groups: posthog.com/docs/revenue-analytics
  3. Sending revenue as your own events: posthog.com/docs/revenue-analytics/capture-revenue-events
  4. Licence: MIT Expat, with the ee folder under its own licence: github.com/PostHog/posthog/blob/master/LICENSE
  5. Self-hosting: Docker Compose deploy, MIT, unsupported: posthog.com/docs/self-host
  6. Cookies and its cookieless modes: posthog.com/docs/data/cookieless-tracking

Swetrix, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Plans, event sizes and prices (monthly and yearly, read from the page script), what counts as an event, websites, members, features, Ask AI, revenue tooltip, free plan and FAQ: swetrix.com/pricing
  2. Revenue tracking: Stripe, Paddle and the API: swetrix.com/docs/analytics-dashboard/revenue-tracking
  3. Self-hosting with Docker: swetrix.com/docs/selfhosting/how-to
  4. Licence file and README: AGPL-3.0 and where it is hosted: github.com/Swetrix/swetrix
  5. How visitors are counted without cookies or localStorage: swetrix.com/docs/visitor-identification
  6. The Ask AI assistant: what it answers and cannot do: swetrix.com/docs/analytics-dashboard/ask-ai

Pirsch, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Plans, page-view sizes and prices (monthly and yearly, read from its slider data), what counts towards the limit, members, hosting location, imports, CSV export: pirsch.io/pricing
  2. Conversion goals and custom metrics, the Plus feature used for revenue: docs.pirsch.io/advanced/conversion-goals
  3. Tracking sales and revenue with a custom event; no plugin of its own for Shopify: docs.pirsch.io/integrations/shopify
  4. Self-hosting through an Enterprise License: docs.pirsch.io/faq
  5. The open-source core, its AGPL-3.0 licence and where it is hosted: github.com/pirsch-analytics/pirsch
  6. No cookies, how visitors are recognised and what is stored: docs.pirsch.io/privacy

DataFast, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Plans, prices, seats and trial: the pricing section, each size and both billing choices read from its slider, and its FAQ on team members: datafa.st/
  2. Revenue attribution and payment providers, with the home page: datafa.st/docs/connect-payment-provider
  3. Cookies, with the FAQ on its home page: datafa.st/docs/gdpr-cookieless-tracking

Fathom Analytics, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Plans, prices, sites and what is included: the tier data behind its slider, monthly and yearly, and the FAQ on how events count: usefathom.com/pricing
  2. Sending a value with an event, and its currencies: usefathom.com/docs/events/ecommerce-conversions
  3. How referrers and UTM tags are carried to events and conversions: usefathom.com/docs/start/measurement
  4. Fathom Lite: the older open-source version, its licence and how it differs from the hosted product: github.com/usefathom/fathom
  5. Cookies and consent banners: usefathom.com/docs/troubleshooting/cookies
  6. Its feature and help index: Search Console integration, Google Analytics importer and the API: usefathom.com/llms.txt
  7. That the current product is a hosted tool: usefathom.com/docs/start/create

Simple Analytics, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Plans, prices, users, sites and features: the slider at each size, monthly and yearly, the price table in the page data, the plan table and the FAQ: www.simpleanalytics.com/pricing
  2. That it is a hosted product and not open source: www.simpleanalytics.com/plausible-alternative
  3. Cookies, similar technologies and IP addresses: docs.simpleanalytics.com/what-we-collect

Google Analytics 4, checked 2 October 2026

  1. Google Analytics is offered free of charge: marketingplatform.google.com/about/analytics/
  2. Traffic acquisition report: total revenue by session source, medium and channel: support.google.com/analytics/answer/12923437
  3. Cookies its tags set and how long they last: support.google.com/analytics/answer/11397207
  4. The Google Analytics MCP server, read requests only: developers.google.com/analytics/devguides/MCP
  5. Ask Advisor, the in-product assistant (beta): support.google.com/analytics/answer/16675569
  6. BigQuery export, its 1M events daily limit and the free sandbox: support.google.com/analytics/answer/9358801
Get started