Checked against Google Analytics 4's public pages on 1 October 2026
trckable vs Google Analytics 4
Google's free web and app analytics product, with a separate paid 360 tier that raises limits. Two analytics tools side by side. Where Google Analytics 4's public pages do not say, the table says so.
Side by side
| Topic | trckable | Google Analytics 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Price, in US dollars | ||
| 100k events a month | $6 a month $60 a year |
$0: Google Analytics is free of charge1a monthly event cap is not stated; it caps events at 100,000 per user per day2 |
| 500k events a month | $42 a month $336 a year* |
$0: Google Analytics is free of charge1a monthly event cap is not stated; it caps events at 100,000 per user per day2 |
| 2M events a month | $99 a month $990 a year |
$0: Google Analytics is free of charge1a monthly event cap is not stated; it caps events at 100,000 per user per day2 |
| What the plans differ in | One plan: every feature at every size | Standard is free. Analytics 360 raises limits: key events 30 to 50, data kept up to 50 months instead of 14, BigQuery daily export from 1M events to billions; its price is not stated3 |
| Revenue | ||
| Revenue attribution | Yes: sales credited to the visit that earned them | Yes: its Traffic acquisition report shows total revenue with session source, medium and channel; revenue comes from purchase events you send with a value and currency4 |
| Payment providers | Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Polar, Paddle and Dodo with one key; any other checkout by webhook | Not stated |
| Hosting and code | ||
| Self-hosting | Yes, free: the same program that runs our Cloud | Not stated |
| Open source | Yes: server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT | Not stated |
| Where data is stored | The EU: servers in Amsterdam, backups in the EU | Google's shared data centres. For EU, Swiss and UK devices, data is first collected on servers in those regions, then sent on for processing; where it is stored is not stated10 |
| Visitors | ||
| Cookies and consent | Cookieless mode is one switch: nothing is kept on the visitor's device. Without it, one first-party cookie lets a sale days later land on the right visit | Its tags set first-party cookies, _ga and _ga_ plus the container ID, for 2 years by default; its page says tags do not need cookies to send data5 |
| Tracker size, gzipped | 2,045 Bmeasured in CI, 1 Oct 2026 | 154,898 Bgtag.js with a placeholder measurement ID, gzip, measured 1 Oct 2026; the size varies a little per request6 |
| Team and data | ||
| AI assistant | Peek answers questions about your numbers in plain words, in the dashboard; API, CLI and MCP for your own AI tools | Ask Advisor, a Gemini-powered assistant in the product (beta); a read-only MCP server7, 8 |
| Team seats | Up to 10 team members to 500k events, unlimited from 1M; viewers and share links always unlimited | You can add as many users as you need, each with a Google account; access is set by role11 |
| Data export | The view you are looking at as CSV, filters included; the same numbers over the API; your whole install as one file you can run anywhere | Raw events to BigQuery, with a daily limit of 1M events on standard properties; other export options are not stated9 |
* At 500k our yearly price is under ten months' price, and stays yours at every renewal while you stay on 500k yearly. Google Analytics 4 measures events and does not bill by them; standard properties are free, with limits on events per user per day1, 2. Our counts are pageviews and custom events, across all your sites. Prices are in US dollars as each tool lists them; where its sizes differ from ours, the closest plan that covers the size is shown.
Where Google Analytics 4 is strong
Why switch
- A lighter script. 2,045 bytes gzipped, with goals, outbound links and checkout attribution built in.
- Cookies optional. One switch keeps nothing on the visitor's device.
- Kept in the EU. Servers in Amsterdam, backups in the EU, no IP addresses stored.
Questions
- What does Google Analytics 4 cost at 500k events a month, compared with trckable?
- Google Analytics 4: $0: Google Analytics is free of charge; a monthly event cap is not stated; it caps events at 100,000 per user per day. trckable: $42 a month, or $336 a year (kept at every renewal while you stay on 500k yearly). Google Analytics 4 measures events and does not bill by them; standard properties are free, with limits on events per user per day.
- Can I self-host Google Analytics 4?
- Google Analytics 4's public pages do not say. trckable: Yes, free: the same program that runs our Cloud.
- Is Google Analytics 4 open source?
- Google Analytics 4's public pages do not say. trckable: Yes: server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT.
- Where does Google Analytics 4 store its data?
- Google's shared data centres. For EU, Swiss and UK devices, data is first collected on servers in those regions, then sent on for processing; where it is stored is not stated. trckable: The EU: servers in Amsterdam, backups in the EU.
- Does Google Analytics 4 use cookies?
- Its tags set first-party cookies, _ga and _ga_ plus the container ID, for 2 years by default; its page says tags do not need cookies to send data. trckable: Cookieless mode is one switch: nothing is kept on the visitor's device. Without it, one first-party cookie lets a sale days later land on the right visit.
- How big is Google Analytics 4's tracking script?
- 154,898 B; gtag.js with a placeholder measurement ID, gzip, measured 1 Oct 2026; the size varies a little per request. trckable: 2,045 B; measured in CI, 1 Oct 2026.
Other comparisons
Sources, checked on 1 October 2026
The Google Analytics 4 column is our reading of its public pages, in our own words. If it has changed or we got it wrong, tell us and we will fix it. "Not stated" means we found nothing on those pages either way.
- Google Analytics is offered free of charge: marketingplatform.google.com/about/analytics/.
- Event collection limits, including events per user per day: support.google.com/analytics/answer/9267744.
- Standard versus 360 limits: key events, retention and BigQuery export: support.google.com/analytics/answer/11202874.
- Traffic acquisition report: total revenue by session source, medium and channel: support.google.com/analytics/answer/12923437.
- Cookies its tags set and how long they last: support.google.com/analytics/answer/11397207.
- Script size: the size sent over the wire, gzipped: www.googletagmanager.com/gtag/js?id=G-XXXXXXX.
- The Google Analytics MCP server, read requests only: developers.google.com/analytics/devguides/MCP.
- Ask Advisor, the in-product assistant (beta): support.google.com/analytics/answer/16675569.
- BigQuery export, its 1M events daily limit and the free sandbox: support.google.com/analytics/answer/9358801.
- EU, Swiss and UK data collected on servers in those regions: support.google.com/analytics/answer/12017362.
- Adding users: no limit on how many: support.google.com/analytics/answer/9305788.
trckable's figures: prices are the ones on the pricing, sizes are CI's measurements, the rest is in the docs.