Checked against PostHog's public pages on 2 October 2026

trckable vs PostHog

PostHog's Web analytics product: a traffic dashboard in an open-source suite, billed per event after 1M free a month. Two analytics tools side by side. Where PostHog's public pages do not say, the table says so.

Side by side

TopictrckablePostHog
Price, in US dollars
100k events a month $6 a month
$60 a year
$0: inside the free 1M events a month1
500k events a month $42 a month
$336 a year*
$0: inside the free 1M events a month1
2M events a month $99 a month
$990 a year
$50 a month on pay-as-you-go: first 1M events free, the next 1M at $0.00005 each2, 3it asks for a card to go above the free tier; no yearly price is listed1
What the plans differ in One plan: every feature at every size Free: 1M events, 1 project, 1 year of data, community support. Pay-as-you-go: usage above the free tier, 6 projects, 7 years of data, email support1
Revenue
Revenue attribution Yes: sales credited to the visit that earned them Revenue sits on persons and groups, from Stripe data or revenue events you send; crediting it to a traffic source is not stated4, 6
Payment providers Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Polar, Paddle and Dodo with one key; any other checkout by webhook Only Stripe for now, its page says; Chargebee, Polar and RevenueCat are listed as coming soon; or send your own revenue events5, 6
Hosting and code
Self-hosting Yes, free: the same program that runs our Cloud Yes: a free Docker Compose deploy; its docs call self-hosted setups officially unsupported8
Open source Yes: server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT Yes: MIT for most of the code; the ee folder has its own licence7
Where data is stored The EU: servers in Amsterdam, backups in the EU Its docs point to PostHog Cloud EU, on servers in Frankfurt, for GDPR needs; other cloud regions are not stated9
Visitors
Cookies and consent Cookieless mode is one switch: nothing is kept on the visitor's device. Without it, one first-party cookie lets a sale days later land on the right visit Uses a first-party cookie by default. A cookieless mode keeps nothing in cookies or local storage, with less detailed data; it is switched on in project settings and in code10
Tracker size, gzipped 2,045 Bmeasured in CI, 1 Oct 2026 99,554 Barray.js from its US asset host, the file its snippet loads, measured 2 Oct 2026; session replay and surveys load as extra files11, 12
Team and data
AI assistant Peek answers questions about your numbers in plain words, in the dashboard; API, CLI and MCP for your own AI tools PostHog AI chat assistant in the app and Slack, 500 credits free a month; an MCP server for your own AI tools1, 13, 14
Team seats Up to 10 team members to 500k events, unlimited from 1M; owners and viewers both count, share links always unlimited Unlimited team members on its free plan; pay-as-you-go is not stated1
Data export The view you are looking at as CSV, filters included; the same numbers over the API; your whole install as one file you can run anywhere Scheduled batch exports to S3, BigQuery, Snowflake, Postgres, Redshift, Databricks and Azure Blob, plus one-off file downloads15

* At 500k our yearly price is under ten months' price, and stays yours at every renewal while you stay on 500k yearly. PostHog bills per event, and its free tier and per-event price are the same for product and web analytics1, 3. Its yearly price is not listed; annual plans go through sales1. Our counts are pageviews and custom events, across all your sites. Prices are in US dollars as each tool lists them; where its sizes differ from ours, the closest plan that covers the size is shown.

Where PostHog is strong

Why people look for a PostHog alternative

Get started

Moving from PostHog

Questions

What does PostHog cost at 500k events a month, compared with trckable?
PostHog: $0: inside the free 1M events a month. trckable: $42 a month, or $336 a year (kept at every renewal while you stay on 500k yearly). PostHog bills per event, and its free tier and per-event price are the same for product and web analytics. Its yearly price is not listed; annual plans go through sales.
Can I self-host PostHog?
Yes: a free Docker Compose deploy; its docs call self-hosted setups officially unsupported. trckable: Yes, free: the same program that runs our Cloud.
Is PostHog open source?
Yes: MIT for most of the code; the ee folder has its own licence. trckable: Yes: server AGPL-3.0, tracker and npm package MIT.
Where does PostHog store its data?
Its docs point to PostHog Cloud EU, on servers in Frankfurt, for GDPR needs; other cloud regions are not stated. trckable: The EU: servers in Amsterdam, backups in the EU.
Does PostHog use cookies?
Uses a first-party cookie by default. A cookieless mode keeps nothing in cookies or local storage, with less detailed data; it is switched on in project settings and in code. trckable: Cookieless mode is one switch: nothing is kept on the visitor's device. Without it, one first-party cookie lets a sale days later land on the right visit.
How big is PostHog's tracking script?
99,554 B; array.js from its US asset host, the file its snippet loads, measured 2 Oct 2026; session replay and surveys load as extra files. trckable: 2,045 B; measured in CI, 1 Oct 2026.

Other comparisons

Sources, checked on 2 October 2026

The PostHog column is our reading of its public pages, in our own words. If it has changed or we got it wrong, tell us and we will fix it. "Not stated" means we found nothing on those pages either way.

  1. Free tier, plans, team members, AI credits and what counts as usage: posthog.com/pricing.
  2. Per-event price bands its pricing page loads: free to 1M events, then $0.00005 to 2M: billing.posthog.com/api/products-v2?display_friendly=true.
  3. Web analytics: 1M events free, then from $0.00005 an event, and its cookieless option: posthog.com/web-analytics.
  4. How revenue is exposed on persons and groups: posthog.com/docs/revenue-analytics.
  5. Which payment platforms connect: posthog.com/docs/revenue-analytics/payment-platforms.
  6. Sending revenue as your own events: posthog.com/docs/revenue-analytics/capture-revenue-events.
  7. Licence: MIT Expat, with the ee folder under its own licence: github.com/PostHog/posthog/blob/master/LICENSE.
  8. Self-hosting: Docker Compose deploy, MIT, unsupported: posthog.com/docs/self-host.
  9. Data location: PostHog Cloud EU in Frankfurt: posthog.com/docs/privacy/data-storage.
  10. Cookies and its cookieless modes: posthog.com/docs/data/cookieless-tracking.
  11. Script size: the size sent over the wire, gzipped: us-assets.i.posthog.com/static/array.js.
  12. The snippet loads array.js; extra bundles load on demand: posthog.com/docs/libraries/js.
  13. PostHog AI assistant, in the app and Slack: posthog.com/docs/posthog-ai.
  14. MCP server for web analytics: posthog.com/docs/web-analytics/surfaces/mcp.
  15. Data export: batch export destinations and file downloads: posthog.com/docs/cdp/batch-exports.

trckable's figures: prices are the ones on the pricing, sizes are CI's measurements, how they are measured is in the docs.